Home Page


The bullet in his brain isn't the problem. She is.

Michael North is a hero, with a bullet in the brain to prove it. A bullet which has rewired his neural pathways and heightened his sense of intuition. That’s if it hasn’t sent him mad. Insane or insanely intuitive? Frankly, he’s not sure which is worse.

Recruited out of the Army to a mysterious extra-governmental agency called The Board, North can be sure of one thing. He’s very good at killing very bad guys.

This is a post Trump, post Brexit world where the Army has been privatised and citizens are disappearing — including talented astronomer Peggy Boland. But Peggy has been missed, not least by her best friend —  the obsessive, relentless Honor Jones, MP.

The politician is determined to find her friend, or die trying. When North is ordered to kill Honor, he realises the only way to keep her alive is to trust himself and help her find Peggy. Before it’s too late for all of them.
"Killing State is a psychological thriller with more twists than a pretzel. The author's first novel is a gritty, action-packed page-turner." ANDY MCNAB, Bravo Two Zero
"A worryingly plausible portrait of Britain in the near-future, Judith O'Reilly's debut novel is fast-paced, packed with action, and introduces a series hero to watch." MICK HERRON, Slow Horses, Spook Street
"New thriller writers come and go. I suspect this lady will stick around." FREDERICK FORSYTH, The Day of the Jackal
"Smart, action-packed and totally immersive, Killing State is set to be one of the biggest thrillers of the year. Don't miss it!" T.R.RICHMOND , What She Left
"A superb political thriller written with aplomb...Former soldier, Michael North is a terrific creation – a hitman with a bullet already lodged in his brain with no time to waste. This is page-turning stuff and Killing State is a story you will keep reading right till the end." HOWARD LINSKEY, The Drop, The Search.
"Grabs you from page one and won’t let you go. What a brilliant debut from Judith O’Reilly – reading it is like watching an action movie. Action packed from start to finish – but with tenderness and great characterisation too. Fast, sharply-written, clever and intense." JEREMY VINE, BBC Radio 2.
"Killing State chronicles anti-hero Michael North's desperate struggle to absolve his sins against an all-too-real conspiracy. In a Dexter meets House of Cards battle, this gritty thriller will appeal to readers with a sophisticated palate for political intrigue." K.J.HOWE, The Freedom Broker.
"I was hooked from the first pages...Brilliant crime thriller which just hooks you straight in and keeps you on the edge of your seat through every chapter! I do genuinely love it and hope it will be a massive success!! I certainly think it will appeal to fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci". @fionamsharp, wwww.independentbookreviews.

ISBN(eb): 978-1-9997653-1-6
ISBN(pb): 978-1-9997653-0-9
ebook pub date: 6th November 2017
paperback pub date:15th March 2018

category: political thriller / crime / action adventure

imprint: Loughman Press
format: B format paperback
height: 198mm
width: 129mm
pages: 464pp