Curse The Day


Buried secrets always surface

Tobias Hawke was the tech genius boss of the British Institute for Deep Learning. Now his body has been found in his lab: he has been brutally murdered.

Hawke was on the brink of an astonishing breakthrough in the field of Artificial Intelligence. His creation, 'Syd', a machine-learning device that mimics human thought, promised to change the face of humanity forever. But, in the wake of her creator's murder, Syd has gone into emergency shutdown procedure. What secrets are her neural networks hiding?

Michael North, ex-assassin and spy-for-hire, is the man to find out. But he can't work alone. Teenage hacker Fangfang, and Hawke's widow, a prize-winning ethicist, have their own reasons to solve the murder. But can they uncover the truth before it's too late?


Out: April 2020 (hardback), October 2020 (paperback)


Praise for Killing State, by Judith O'Reilly


"high octane... Great debut.” SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
Thriller of the Week: MAIL ON SUNDAY
"Thought-provoking, pacy and thrilling.” SUNDAY MIRROR
"A terrific future-shock thriller full of pace, tension, character, and emotion. Highly recommended.” LEE CHILD, The Jack Reacher novels
"Killing State is a psychological thriller with more twists than a pretzel. The author's first novel is a gritty, action-packed page-turner." ANDY MCNAB, Bravo Two Zero
"A worryingly plausible portrait of Britain in the near-future, Judith O'Reilly's debut novel is fast-paced, packed with action, and introduces a series hero to watch." MICK HERRON, Slow Horses, Spook Street
"New thriller writers come and go. I suspect this lady will stick around." FREDERICK FORSYTH, The Day of the Jackal
"Grabs you from page one and won’t let you go. What a brilliant debut from Judith O’Reilly – reading it is like watching an action movie. Action packed from start to finish – but with tenderness and great characterisation too. Fast, sharply-written, clever and intense." JEREMY VINE, BBC Radio 2.
"Gripping and twisty." INDIA KNIGHT , Recommended Read, Sunday Times Magazine
"Smart, action-packed and totally immersive, Killing State is set to be one of the biggest thrillers of the year. Don't miss it!" T.R.RICHMOND , What She Left
"A superb political thriller written with aplomb...Former soldier, Michael North is a terrific creation – a hitman with a bullet already lodged in his brain with no time to waste. This is page-turning stuff and Killing State is a story you will keep reading right till the end." HOWARD LINSKEY, The Drop, The Search.
"Killing State chronicles anti-hero Michael North's desperate struggle to absolve his sins against an all-too-real conspiracy. In a Dexter meets House of Cards battle, this gritty thriller will appeal to readers with a sophisticated palate for political intrigue." K.J.HOWE, The Freedom Broker.
"I was hooked from the first pages...Brilliant crime thriller which just hooks you straight in and keeps you on the edge of your seat through every chapter! I do genuinely love it and hope it will be a massive success!! I certainly think it will appeal to fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci". @fionamsharp, wwww.independentbookreviews.